Lack of priests leads to Hutt Valley parish mergers

The Hutt Valley’s 11 Catholic parishes could be reduced to six as the wider Wellington archdiocese struggles with a declining number of priests.

Wellington archbishop John Dew has produced a discussion document for consideration by all church members detailing proposals for wide ranging structural changes. It includes amalgamating 47 regional parishes into 23.

Proposals to be discussed include combining the Eastbourne, Petone and Waiwhetu parishes; Avalon, Naenae and Taita; and Heretaunga and Stokes Valley.

The Upper Hutt, Lower Hutt and Wainuiomata parishes would remain as they are. Continue reading

Additional reading

News category: News Shorts.

Tags: , ,