PNG-SI Bishops’ Conference elects new president

The Catholic Catholic Bishop’s Bishops of Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands have elected Bishop  Arnold Orowae of Wabag as its new President.

The election took place at the Conference annual general meeting, held  between 1-9 May 2014.

The Deputy President is Archbishop Steve Reichert of Madang.

The Central Committee, which is elected every three years, is made up of  Bishop Orowae, Archbishop Reichert, Bishop Rochus Tatamai of Bereina, Bishop Gilles Cote’ of Daru-Kiunga and Archbishop.Douglas Young (Finance).

The Conference also elected office holders for its various commissions.

On Tuesday, 6 May the committee set up by the National Executive Council (NEC) of PNG Government for the resettlement of Asylum Seekers, addressed the Bishops and listened to their views on the issue.

Lady Kidu, the Chairperson of this Committee, Archbishop John Ribat, the Church representative, and others shared their findings.

The Committee is expected to present their report to the NEC this week.

The Bishops also discussed papers presented by

  •  Fr. Paul Jennings who spoke on education
  • Mr. Pascoe Kase of the National Department who spoke on health
  • Fr. Roger Purcel who spoke about the  Conference pastoral plan


Supplied by Fr Giorgi Licini

Additional reading

News category: Asia Pacific.

Tags: , , ,