Lack of priests forces 3 Wairarapa parishes to merge

An overhaul of the Wellington Archdiocese will soon see the three Catholic Wairarapa parishes merge into a single combined parish.

The three separate parishes of Masterton, Carterton and Featherston will combine to become the Catholic Parish of Wairarapa, as of February 1.

The new parish will be centrally administered from Masterton, but all five Catholic churches in Wairarapa will still continue to hold Mass and other activities.

Masterton parish leader Father Julian Wagg said one reason for the change was a decline in the number of priests. Continue Reading

Additional reading

News category: New Zealand, News Shorts.

Tags: ,