Marriage equality, five years on

Would any of the politicians who opposed the marriage equality bill have voted differently if it had passed today? Greta Yeoman asked them.

Just over five years ago, New Zealand politicians voted 77-44 to legalise gay marriage, making this country the 13th in the world to do so. Of the 44 politicians who voted against the Marriage (Definition of Marriage) Amendment Act 2013.

Of the 22 politicians still in Parliament who voted ‘no’ five years ago, 17 are National Party MPs, three are Labour Party representatives and two are from NZFirst. Continue reading

Additional reading

News category: New Zealand, News Shorts.

Tags: ,